Should Hindus befriend Muslim?

Should Hindus befriend Muslim?

​Day before yesterday was our Independence day (I am from India) so naturally I was feeling more patriotic than usual. I couldn’t help my self from typing “India” on the search bar of wordpress. 

I came across two very well written posts:”HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY???” By Rashmi and “SACRED INDEPENDENCE” by Enchanted Forests (I recommend you to click on their names and check them out)

Then I came across a post whose title was enough to completely shake me. I was greatly offended. Before I tell you what it read I request you to not look for the post until you are done reading this para.  Okay so, it read “As an Indian muslim, my five reasons to prove why India and Indians are, and should be hated.” The very first thing which popped up in my mind was “you dont even know how to frame your title man, how could you possibly have enough knowledge to judge religions!!!” (I know not knowing how to frame English sentences does not mean that someone is not smart but still!! I had to think something bad about him). I opened the post to see what reasons this wise man has given. While I was reading, I realised that the blogger’s motive was completely opposite to what the title was suggesting. That explained all the likes it received and all the comments it got. Here’s the link to the post.

His words encouraged me to write this blog.

The thing is humans are spices which can only survive by living in communities. We can not help it, we need others, social lifestyle is ingrained in our brains. We love to know other people, make friends and we stay happy in a place wherever there’s some form of life. Loneliness and living in isolation are generally related to depression among us. Basically, together we rise and apart we fall. 

After the Partition of India in 1947, it saw large scale sectarian strife and bloodshed throughout the nation. Since then there have been a lot of cases of violence sparked by underlying tensions between sections of the Hindu and Muslim communities. From 2005 to 2009, an average of 130 people died every year from communal violence.

130 PEOPLE!!!

No matter how much India rises, it will always remain under the category of a “developing country.” Why? Because there’s a very heavy chain which prevents India from flying to success. The chain of stereotype. 

What I am trying to say is if a few Muslim/Hindu did something which is not acceptable in the society, it doesn’t mean that every single Muslim/Hindu will follow their footsteps. Every single individual is unique guys. It’s a very elementary fact and yet millions don’t understand it.

Rather than dividing people in so many different types of categories and creating a chaos out of it, why not divide people into simply two categories? First, the people who are humane and Second the people who are inhumane. And then we should try to influence inhumane people to do good to society rather than trying to convert other people to our religion. 

I’m a Hindu and I have a Muslim friend, Sakeena, and she’s the sweetest person I have ever met! (She’s the one in the middle, btw I know it is a totally fail photo)

Forget the past, people who live today are not the ones responsible for it.

Only if we stand together and call ourselves Indians rather than Christian, Muslim, Hindu, Sikh, Jain or Buddhist, we will actually be free and liberate India from the chains. Only then India will be able to become a developed country.

I know I will only be able to reach a very limited number of people but I’ll be glad even if I will help one person think a little bit differently.

41 thoughts on “Should Hindus befriend Muslim?

  1. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found
    any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful
    than ever before.

    Like

  2. This is yet another very interesting post of your’s and I totally agree with you. The nation has to stand as one. I’m sure the few number of people you reach would still make a great impact and would spread the word.👌

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this post and your post about your experiences with teachers. I admire your efforts to change and to reinvent yourself. Keep reading and thinking as you work through your views on stereotypes. I agree that we should not stereotype people, but view them with love as individuals. I do urge you to think about what you did in school. For many years, you carefully created a stereotype for YOURSELF; you relished your role as the troublemaker. Now you see that was a bad choice, but you don’t understand why teachers still view you the way you at one time wanted them (and your fellow students) to view you. Don’t give up, but do understand the consequences of your actions and don’t blame others for reacting to you the way you taught them to. It will take a long time and perhaps a fresh start to achieve your goals in relation to other people; because, like you and me, they are only human.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the trouble to help me!! And yes perhaps it will take a long time. When I was writing that post I wasn’t thinking clearly, it was the angry me who was typing. I only write when I’m frustrated or overwhelmed with emotions. Thanks again for dropping by!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. being raised in the southern usa, one can’t forget the past or how deeply it meshes itself into how people see us presently. that is a human goal we can work to achieve…who we are now and not who people were before us.
    well written opinion.
    ellespeth

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I SO enjoyed reading your comments and seeing your beautiful photographs! My husband and I were privileged to visit India last year when our son was an expat in Pune for the year. We got a tiny taste of India’s incredibly rich culture, toured a spice plantation in Kerala and spent New Year’s Eve a few hundred yards from the Taj. Delhi was abuzz getting ready for Obama’s visit for Independence Day. I am forever changed. There are parts of your culture that ring true and have been forsaken in Western culture–the acceptance, the calming “centeredness”, the steps toward enlightenment (did I get that right…or even close???) You have an incredibly personal, important, and powerful message that needs to be heard. And the part about staying true to your passion—valid, valid, valid! My mantra is no-judgement, no-blame: we are all doing the best we can with what we have. Please keep putting yourself out there. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Miralianna! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here (by the way yes, you got the virtues right). I am feeling really ashamed replying to you, because I know this reply isn’t nearly as good as your passionate comment😣 but thanks alot. Comments like these help me to keep writing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh gosh…please never feel ashamed… I feel absolutely honored and humbled by your reply. Teaching in the U.S., I can say without reservation that my students with Indian roots were always amazing–insightful, caring, striving. I can tell that you are all of those and more. I’m looking forward to your future posts. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. This post is so amazing. You are completely right! I believe that race, religion, and gender don’t matter
    And that we should only care about what people have in their hearts 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

